Recovering from disaster

Hello,

I am a linux administrator in the making still. :slight_smile:

I have an almalinux server up and running with my disks in RAID 1.

I have some questions around disaster recovery.

1. If a disk fails, how easy is it to simply get back up and running again from the mirror drive? Is it hot swappable and how would I go about it? Is there any documentation on this?

2. If the motherboard blows, how easy is it to recover from this type of disaster from your RAID set up?

NOTE: I am aware that I obviously have to have backups of my data which I do have but this question is purely around getting back up and running from either a disk failure or motherboard failure.

Eager to hear your thoughts :smiley:

In RAID 1, mirror, you have one logical drive and everything you write to the logical drive is written to both physical drives. The content of the drives is thus identical.

If one of the physical drives breaks, then you still have same logical drive with same content (in the remaining physical drive). One would replace the broken disk and the RAID would resync content from the ok drive in the background.

Drive is hot-swappable, if the hardware supports hot-swap. However, some disk breaks do report up to OS, which can panic. A restart might be necessary.

With reboot, we get to big question: What kind of RAID 1?

• Hardware RAID has dedicated RAID controller and does all the RAID operations within the controller. From OS point of view it “just has a disk”. The mirrors are complete.
  • Software RAID is all in software and CPU does all the work. Since OS sees the physical drives, it is usually the individual partitions that are mirrored. If legacy mode is still in use, boot starts from sector 0, which are not mirrored. They should thus be written so that boot from the second drive is possible.
  • Fakeraid is effectively software RAID. Chipset has some tools, but OS and CPU still do all the work.