Where is all the software & how to install it (snap?)?

I am new to Almalinux and am struggling to find and install relevant software which I use frequently.

When I look into the software center, it is almost empty. I cant find a way to search for what is available rather than what is already installed.

At the moment I want to install qt5 and gcc and all the supporting packages to compile technical applications. A webpage suggests to install a qt5 snap package - is that the way to do it? Where/How to find and install all linux software? How to check what is already installed?

do not use snap, if you do that then you may as well be using archlinux or something, you will have defeated the point of using an enterprise-grade distro. ditch whatever website told you to do that.

ā€œdnf install qt5 gccā€ is what you want.

ā€œdnf search qt5ā€ would have helped you find it.

ā€œrpm -q qt5ā€ will tell you if its already installed.

software center is useless, donā€™t bother with the gui apps.

if you use the software frequently then what distro have you come from?

rpm -qa
dnf list installed

Alma has what RHEL has and RHEL does not have everything and then some.
There are third-party repositories that have for EL what EL does not have.

The most prominent is EPEL (Extra Packages for Enterprise Linux).
That repo is relatively safe, and easy to get access to:

sudo dnf install epel-release

Thank you for the quick responses!

@ sej7278: I have been using Solus Linux (stable, performant, current, easy to use) for the past 5 years, replacing Ubuntu which had reliability problems at the time after a rushed update cycle as I would call it. I have been using Redhat Linux in its early days for many years before it became RHEL. Now I am replacing Solus Linux as I want to port some scientific applications to run on AMD GPUs and need AMD Rocm which will hopefully soon be available for RHEL i.e. Almalinux 9. It would probably be too much effort required to install Rocm on Solus.